“”…the speaker was trying to keep everything in the speech to a positive moan…”

There are no surprises in the full text, just more words. Here it is:

“I feel as if the speaker was trying to keep everything in the speech to a positive moan so he didn’t cause any worry.”

I didn’t record the context for this astonishing statement. It occurs in my Book of Horrors amid a number of gems about fast food and Wal-Mart, which means I read it in the midst of essays about obesity, income inequality, and other depressing topics; but none of the material students were using for those essays was a speech. So I have no idea what prompted this observation.

Trying to figure out the source of the error, I just opened a Word document and did every variation I could think of on “tone” to try to get SpellCheck to suggest “moan,” but nothing worked. My writer couldn’t possibly have meant “positive moan”; he just couldn’t have. But there it sits.

So I offer it on New Year’s Eve. As you sit around this evening reminiscing about the past exciting year, or rising to your feet to toast the coming one, if you’re anything like me you’re bound to do some moaning. All I can say is, don’t be a Ghost-of-Marley-Does-New-Year’s-Eve! Try to keep those moans positive! We have enough worries, without adding negative moans to them.

Happy New Year, everyone. Take a cup of kindness for auld lang syne.

About RAB

Teacher of English writing and literature (college-level); academic-freedom activist; editor and copy editor; theater director, costumer, actress, playwright. View all posts by RAB

2 responses to ““”…the speaker was trying to keep everything in the speech to a positive moan…”

Leave a Reply or Share a Horror.

