“No one wants to spend thousands of dollars for a year in a university…”

The end of this statement was what entertained me so hugely when I first read the paper that contained it; but in view of recent news from UCal Davis, I begin to think I have a new and necessary word in my vocabulary:

“No one wants to spend thousands of dollars for a year in a university just to transfer because the school becomes loatheworthy.”

I don’t remember the original context of this sentence. I have given essay assignments using news clippings about various university stupidities, inequities, blind spots, skewed priorities, and complacencies, but none that would have necessitated such a coinage. I never assigned anything on Kent State.

Well, once the word was coined, I’m afraid it was just a matter of time before the word would come in handy.

Have the Orcs arrived?

About RAB

Teacher of English writing and literature (college-level); academic-freedom activist; editor and copy editor; theater director, costumer, actress, playwright. View all posts by RAB

Leave a Reply or Share a Horror.

