“Academic freedom allows a student to explore or hold any belief without influence from the teacher.”

I post this one in memory of my dear friend and colleague Diane Feigenson, who laughed heartily over it with me, as she did with many hilarious horrors in her own student papers and mine over the two decades that I knew her.

She died last night, but leaves a legacy of thousands of students influenced for the better by her knowledge, her passion, and her assiduous labors in their behalf.

About RAB

Teacher of English writing and literature (college-level); academic-freedom activist; editor and copy editor; theater director, costumer, actress, playwright. View all posts by RAB

2 responses to ““Academic freedom allows a student to explore or hold any belief without influence from the teacher.”

  • Ioanna Opidee

    I am so incredibly sorry to hear this. Diane was an amazingly supportive colleague in the relatively short period of time I got to work with her, and she was obviously a wonderful inspiration to her students. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do.

    • RAB

      We’re thinking of putting a book of reminiscences/tributes together, to share among ourselves and give to the family. I’ll let you know when we’ve decided more specifically. She is a terrible loss.

Leave a Reply or Share a Horror.

